Making a wedding [dress]

8 Jun

I’m hooked on Pinterest, with both Wedding and Craftyness boards going on. Though given that I just hemmed curtains with Bondaweb, standards around here may have slipped a little.

However, the plan to at least attempt to make my wedding dress with Abi is still alive. We went fabric shopping and found wondrous things.  Gorgeous laces and silk satin. I started to think about using a pattern I’ve used before, with a cowl neck (Pippa Middleton’s bridesmaid frock puts me off slightly though). But with the fabric coming in about £250, it’s certainly wasn’t a cheap option. And I’m a bride on a budget.

I realised perhaps Perhaps I’m just looking in the wrong fabric shops? Soho is never going to be cheap (or even competitive, as we gradually realised that at least three shops we visited, on the same street, are all part of the same company) but the quality is stunning. The girls in the last two shops we visited were sweet and helpful – and I realised that I was warming more towards the suggestion from the second, because her figure was more like mine. It’s a sensible principle, like picking the department store assistant whose make-up you like best.

Eventually I went back to the old faithful – John Lewis. I bought some oyster polyester satin, pictured above –  which will have a lovely drape to it – and I’m going to give this Burda pattern a go.

I’m thinking slightly higher hemline and a big petticoat underneath with a wide satin binding. (I’ve seen one online so that might be a purchase rather than something I’d make.) I figure this dress has potential because it hasn’t got as many seams as most of the vintage Vogue patterns I’ve been looking at, as uses less fabric. Also with the almost Empire line bust, I hope I’ll be able to mix and match the pattern pieces to fit my mix and match figure.  First step is a muslin – all my fabric is in storage as we moved lots of stuff out of the flat prior to selling it so tomorrow I’m off to the market. Also hoping that my sewing machine finally comes back from the shop tomorrow!

4 Responses to “Making a wedding [dress]”

  1. Rachael September 1, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

    Hi

    Can you tell me the name of this pattern please? I saw it online and fell in love with it for my own bridesmaid dresses, but now it’s vanished from the jaycotts website. Would love the actual name or a product number so I can search properly.

    Thanks,
    Rachael

    • Gail September 2, 2011 at 7:46 am #

      It’s Burda 7569, hope you find it!

  2. Rebecca Allen November 4, 2011 at 10:32 pm #

    How did it all go?

Leave a Reply

